top of page


area code

Biggest city:





Mountain (GMT -7)

Nearby area codes: 

Zip codes



Major Cities:

Billings, Laurel, Worden, Huntley, Broadview, Custer, Pompeys Pillar, Missoula, Lolo, Frenchtown, Clinton, Condon, Great Falls, Cascade, Belt, Fort Shaw, Bozeman, Butte, Helena, Missoula.


Average Income:





Unemployment Rate:

The 406 area code is unique in that it serves the entire state of Montana, a feature that underscores its importance in the state's telecommunications landscape. Statewide Coverage: Established in 1947, the 406 area code covers the entire state of Montana. This makes Montana one of the few states in the United States to be served by a single area code. The statewide coverage simplifies telecommunications across Montana's diverse landscapes, which include both urban centers and vast rural areas. Economic and Cultural Significance: The 406 area code supports Montana's varied economy, which includes sectors like agriculture, mining, tourism, and energy production. It's also crucial for the state's cultural and recreational activities, given Montana's rich history, national parks, and outdoor recreation opportunities. The area code connects businesses, government services, and residents across the state, facilitating communication and economic activities. No Overlay and Seven-Digit Dialing: Unlike many other regions in the United States that have introduced overlay area codes and moved to ten-digit dialing, Montana continues to use seven-digit dialing within the 406 area code. This means that calls within Montana do not require the area code to be dialed for local calls, maintaining a simpler dialing process for residents and businesses. These key facts about the 406 area code underscore its critical role in supporting telecommunications across Montana. By providing a single, unified numbering plan, the 406 area code ensures efficient and straightforward communication throughout the state, catering to its diverse economic, cultural, and geographical needs.
bottom of page