top of page


area code

Biggest city:





Hawaii-Aleutian (GMT -10)

Nearby area codes: 

Zip codes



Major Cities:

Honolulu (Hawaii, USA), Hilo, Kailua


Average Income:





Unemployment Rate:

Area code 808 is an essential telephone area code within the North American Numbering Plan, specifically serving the Hawaiian Islands. Geographic Coverage and Assignment Date: Area code 808 covers both the windward and the leeward islands of Hawaii, as well as Wake Island in the western Pacific Ocean. It was assigned on August 8, 1957, approximately two years before Hawaii achieved statehood. This area code includes major cities and counties in Hawaii, such as Honolulu, Pearl City, Hilo, Waipahu, Kaneohe, Honolulu County, Maui County, Hawaii County, and Kauai County​​. Serving Major Hawaiian Cities: The largest city served by area code 808 is Honolulu, the capital city of Hawaii. This area code covers a total of 33 cities, making it a vital component of Hawaii's telecommunications infrastructure. The cities covered under this area code are key urban and economic hubs within the state​​​​. Time Zone: Area code 808 is located in the Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST) zone. Unlike most areas in the United States, Hawaii does not observe Daylight Saving Time. This means that the area code operates under a consistent time zone throughout the year, ensuring a stable and predictable schedule for communication within the islands​​. In summary, area code 808 plays a critical role in the telecommunications network of the Hawaiian Islands, encompassing key cities and counties. Its establishment in 1957, before Hawaii's statehood, reflects its historical significance. The area code's coverage of major urban centers like Honolulu and its placement in the Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time zone are significant operational aspects.
bottom of page