top of page


area code

Biggest city:





Eastern (GMT -5)

Nearby area codes: 

Zip codes



Major Cities:

Indianapolis, Edgewood, Lafayette, West Lafayette, Otterbein, Clarks Hill, Muncie, Kokomo, Greentown, Russiaville, Anderson, Elwood, Alexandria.


Average Income:





Unemployment Rate:

Area code 765 is a significant telephone area code in the United States, serving a substantial portion of Indiana. Geographic Location and Coverage: Area code 765 is designated for the central part of Indiana. It encompasses a horseshoe-shaped region of twenty counties in Central Indiana, excluding the Indianapolis area, which is served by area codes 317 and 463. The 765 area code covers a total of 142 cities, including prominent ones like Indianapolis, Lafayette, Muncie, Kokomo, and Anderson. It also extends to 36 counties, such as Madison County, Tippecanoe County, Delaware County, Howard County, and Wayne County​​​​. Establishment and Service Area: This area code was assigned on September 3rd, 1996, and went into service on February 1st, 1997. It was introduced to serve areas outside of the Indianapolis metropolitan area and is a General Purpose Code. The standard dialing pattern for local calls within the same NPA (Numbering Plan Area) is seven digits​​. Time Zone: Area code 765 is located in the Eastern Time Zone (ET). Like most areas in the United States, it observes Daylight Saving Time, which involves adjusting the clocks forward in spring and backward in autumn to extend evening daylight during the warmer months of the year​​. In summary, area code 765 plays a crucial role in the telecommunications network of central Indiana, serving a wide range of cities and counties. Its implementation in 1997 and its extensive coverage area reflect the growth and development of telecommunications needs in the region. The area code's location in the Eastern Time Zone and adherence to Daylight Saving Time are also key aspects of its operation.
bottom of page