top of page


area code

Biggest city:





Central (GMT -6)

Nearby area codes: 

Zip codes



Major Cities:

Madison, Janesville, La Crosse, Beloit, Eau Claire.


Average Income:





Unemployment Rate:

The 608 area code is a key component of Wisconsin's telecommunications network, serving the southwestern part of the state and playing a crucial role in its connectivity and regional identity. Serving Southwestern Wisconsin: Established in 1955, the 608 area code covers southwestern Wisconsin, including key cities like Madison (the state capital), Janesville, La Crosse, and Beloit. This area code is vital for linking various communities within this region, facilitating communication across a landscape that includes both urban centers and rural areas. Region of Economic and Educational Significance: The area served by the 608 area code is known for its diverse economy and educational institutions. Madison, as a cultural and economic hub, is home to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, a major research university, and hosts a range of technology and healthcare companies. The region also boasts rich agricultural lands and is known for its natural beauty, including parts of the Driftless Area. The 608 area code supports the high volume of communication required by these varied activities and communities. Adapting to Population Growth and Technological Changes: The introduction of the 608 area code was a response to the increasing demand for phone numbers in southwestern Wisconsin, particularly with the rise of mobile phone usage. As the region continues to grow and evolve, there may be further changes in its telecommunications landscape to accommodate the changing needs of its residents and businesses. The 608 area code is more than just a set of digits; it represents the unique blend of southwestern Wisconsin's urban and rural landscapes, economic diversity, and educational significance, playing a crucial role in connecting the region's communities and supporting its economy.
bottom of page